Our Leadership

GELF Board of Directors

GELF Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is a governing body that provides Governor's Early Literacy Foundation with strategic advice and resources to help grow the Imagination Library program. It is made up of educators, stakeholders, donors, and partners who serve as connectors and ambassadors for Tennessee's Imagination Library statewide.


(Pictured left to right, front row: Dr. Shirley Raines, President of GBBF Theresa Carl, Governor Bill Haslam, First Lady Crissy Haslam, Vicki Smith, second row: Mayor Jake Bynum, Laura Travis, Donna Noland, Byron Trauger, back row: Rachel Gatlin, Dr. Nancy Dishner, Not pictured: Calvin Anderson)

  • Calvin Anderson, Former Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs and Chief of Staff, BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Health Foundation
  • Mayor Jake Bynum, Weakley County
  • Dr. Nancy Dishner, President and CEO, Niswonger Foundation
  • Donna Noland, First Lady, East Tennessee State University
  • Dr. Shirley Raines, President Emeritus, University of Memphis
  • Vicki Smith, Senior Manager of Corporate Social Responsibility, Nissan North America Inc
  • Byron Trauger, Partner, Trauger & Tuke
  • Laura Travis, Associate Agent, Ron Travis Agency
  • Dr. Michael D. Warren, Assistant Commissioner, Division of Family Health & Wellness at Tennessee Department of Health